top of page

All-region football honors roll in for two public high schools

All-region honors for football players started being announced as the 2021 season came to a close, and between the two public high schools in Emanuel, more than 40 players have received recognition.

Swainsboro High School’s Ty Adams was named Region 2-AA Player of the Year.

Wide receiver Demello Jones and offensive linemen Try’lyvion Harris as well as Shannon Ricks made first team all-region for offense. Making first team all-region for defense were: defensive linemen Ryan Gilmore, Daron Coleman, and Quan Starnes; linebackers Ja’Quavious Lattimore, Jerrod Steward, and Jonorian Foots; and defensive back Jakari Nobles.

On second team all-region for offense were: offensive linemen Kason Palmer, running back Qindarius Brown, and wide receiver Keshon Deloach. Defensive back Dorien Foots made second team all-region for defense.

Trevon Waller, Bryson Tarver, Da’rius Phillips, Dakota Blount, and Kenyuan Jackson received honorable mentions.

Zach Grant, Landen Scott, Thomas Hancock, Caleb Long, Jaydon Worthen, Palmer, Foots, and Nobles all received academic all-region accolades as well.

Altogether, Swainsboro High contributed 25 players to the list.

Making the cut for the Emanuel County Institute Bulldogs were: quarterback Bryce Kearson, offensive linemen Hagan Henry and Bray Sherrod, running back DJ Jones, defensive end Kris Jackson, and linebackers Mike Kelly and Natavus Robertson. These seven young men were named to the first team for Region 3-A Public.

Seven more ECI players were selected to the second all-region team: running back PJ Farnum, offensive linemen Joseph Connor, tight end Jack Walden, defensive end Carlton Gamble, defensive backs Cordarius Lee and KJ Carlyle, and linebacker Hudson Henry.

Receiving honorable mentions for ECI were running back Brian Steele; offensive lineman Melvin Akridge; defensive linemen Payne Sanders, Timmy Dobson, and Joseph Fillmore; defensive backs Kobi Allen and Dontay Washington; and placekicker Samuel McBride.

This brings ECI’s total recipients to 22 players on the year.

Now that the 2021 state champions have been crowned, all-state honors should be announced soon. Look for updates in a future edition of The Chronicle.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page