top of page

BOE approves hire of six new teachers

The Emanuel County Board of Education has added a number of new teachers to the system, thanks to a passing vote after an executive session concluded the body’s April meeting last Tuesday, April 13.

Among the new teacher hires are Hunter Braswell and Rebecca McNeely, whose NCIC reviews had been completed as of the time of the meeting, with Barry S. Golden Jr., Christian Novak, Christopher Pye, and Chiquita Smith to follow, pending their NCIC reviews’ completion.

Another highlight of the meeting came when Superintendent Dr. Kevin Judy bestowed a certificate to the Mill Creek Foundation for its generous support of the district throughout the years. Denny Kea was on hand to accept the certificate on the foundation’s behalf.

On a related note, Dr. Judy thanked Swainsboro Elementary School administrators Valorie Watkins and Lara Norton for hosting the meeting and for the excellent job they have done this year keeping the students and school alike safe while focusing on academics.

The board also voted to allow virtual juniors and seniors to attend their respective school’s proms. (A full story on this can be found elsewhere in this edition of The Crossroads Chronicle.)

Other items covered in the consent agenda included the minutes from meetings held March 9 and March 23, the financial reports, the School Resource Officer Agreement for FY22, the purchase of two 2020 GMC work trucks in the amount of $70,750 (paid for by SPLOST and maintenance), the purchase of two 2022 Blue Bird gas buses in the amount of $185,800 (for which the state contributed $154,440), surplus materials, the Family Connection fiscal agreement, the ECI modification certification, and the governor’s bonus pay. The consent agenda was unanimously approved.

The board also selected its delegate (John Allen Bailey) and its alternate delegate (Phyllis Dixon) for the 2021 Georgia School Board Association’s Summer Conference.

Chandra Hooks, Director of School Nutrition, gave a presentation on the feeding program scheduled for this upcoming summer break.

The board also voted on other personnel matters following executive session before adjourning. This action included the:

• Hiring of eight classified employees. Jessica Arms, Maurielle Harmon, Brittany Meade, Erica Smith, and Gail Williams have been hired as substitute teachers. Sonya Cunningham joins the system as a substitute nurse, Shateria Jenkins joins Emanuel County Schools as a bus driver, and Geraldine Rountree will join ECS as a substitute custodian.

Resignations of four teachers, including Sallie Jane Claxton, Jennifer Horton, and Malorie Rivers, all effective May 28, and Jennifer Phillips, effective October 1.

Resignations of three classified employees. Bus driver Tommy Neal’s resignation will be effective May 26, paraprofessional Mallory Wheeler’s resignation will be effective May 28, and clerk Bryanna Riner’s resignation will be effective at a later date to be determined.

Transfers of two teachers, Marla Hooks and Dena Walden, effective July 26.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page