top of page

BOE honors Beta, FBLA, FCCLA students

Updated: May 1

The Emanuel County Board of Education met on Tuesday, April 18, 2023 at 5:30 p.m. at the Swainsboro High School auditorium with the following members in attendance: John Allen Bailey, Mason Henry, Cherie Hooks, Tanya Lane, Johnny Parker and Sandra Swinney. Mason Henry welcomed everyone to the meeting and delivered the invocation followed by Johnny Parker leading the Pledge of Allegiance. The agenda was approved as presented.

Ms. Tammy Gray recognized the March recipients of the F.A.M.I.L.Y. (Forget About Me I Love You), P.A.U.S.E. (Pupil Acknowledgement Using SAS/FAMILY Example) and S.A.S. (Service Above Self) awards.

The F.A.M.I.L.Y. award went to Lisa Reynolds, Kindergarten Teacher at Swainsboro Primary. The P.A.U.S.E. award went to Braylie Brown, 5th Grade student at Twin City Elementary. The S.A.S. award went to Trena Houston, Parent Mentor at Central Office.

Dr. Denise Warnock, Tammy Gray and Stefanie Mason recognized students from Swainsboro High School (SHS) who received State Beta convention awards. The following students received awards: Anna Donaldson, Chasity Adams, Landon Gay, Jayla Williams, Nathan Henry, Achazia Harmon, Tisey Powell, Ayla Thompson, McKayla Hall , Ozzy Gonzalez for 2nd Place in Character Performance; Jose Hernandez, Jayden Beneteau, Evan Rogers, Jimmy Aguilar, Manuel Fernandez, Aiden Foskey 4th Place in Robotics; Daniella Delgado, Faith Ann Rogers, Nauseen Hall, Claire English, Victoria McRee, Kisna Patel, Alexus Mercer, Zoe Carter, Elaina Hutcheson, Terralynn Brinson 5th Place in Living Literature; Megan Peebles, Madison Peebles, Tisey Powell, Anna Donaldson 5th Place in Portfolio; Laynie Scott 1st Place 9th Grade Agriscience; Jose Hernandez 3rd Place in 12th Grade Spanish; Yasmin Rios 4th Place in 9th Grade Spanish; Chase Coxwell 5th place in 9th Grade Social Studies; Yi'Zhariah Bell 2nd Place in Performing Arts Solo, Duo, Trio Dancer; Nauseen Hall, Faith Ann Rogers, Sadie Boulineau, Victoria McRee, Rory Reynolds, Evan Rogers 3rd Place in Performing Arts Small Group; Yasmin Rios 2nd Place Division I Speech; Caleb Long 3rd Place Division II Speech; Mattie Boulineau 1st Place Division II Quilling; Laynie Scott 2nd Place Division I Fiber Arts; Terralynn Brinson 2nd Place Division I Black & White Photography; Jose Hernandez 3rd Place Division II Sculpture; Kali Screws 4th Place Division I Mixed Media; Evan Rogers 4th Place Division II Woodworking; Tisey Powell 4th Place Division II Jewelry; Abigail Phillips 5th Place Division I Sculpture

SHS FBLA State Leadership Conferencestudent honors went to: Quintus Williams 2nd Place in Client Service (State Runner-Up); Quintus Williams Region 4 All-Star Member; Anna Donaldson Region 4 All-Star Member; Linda Kelly Region 4 All-Star Advisor; Shayla Coleman Region 4 All-Star Advisor; Tisey Powell SLC Finalist - Business Ethics; Kisna Patel SLC Finalist - Business Ethics; Megan Peebles SLC Finalist - Business Ethics; Quintus Williams Top 10 SLC Finalist: Client Service

SHS FCCLA State Leadership Conference student honor went Morgan Green who receive a silver medal in the STAR Repurpose and Redesign Level 3 competition and advanced to Nationals

ECI FCCLA State Leadership Conference student honors went to: Matti Cochran Top 10 in Creed speaking; Mylie Lane and Allie Rigdon 3rd Place in Chapter Service Project Display; Halli Kate Johnson 2nd Place in Chapter Service Project Portfolio; Jaelynn Dixon Rowland 1st Place in Gold Professional Presentation; Samadi Salgado and Dhahami Salgado Silver in Repurpose and Redesign.

ECI FBLA State Leadership Conference student honor went to Brailey Radford 8th in Client Service Chapter. Lily Kate Robertson and Parker Frederick were recognized as Region 4 officers.

ECI Technology Student Association State Leadership Conference student honors went to: Spencer Lawrence Top 10 in Dragster; Wallee Kersey Top 16 in Dragster; Wallee Kersey and Blake Librizzi Top 10 in Problem Solving - Engineering; Blake Librizzi Top 16 in Technology Essay.

The Page Grant Winners were Suzanne Bowen for TCE and Amelia Parker for SMS.

After the executive session, the Board approved the following certified renewals: Alicia Biggins, SMS Teacher; Whitney Calhoun, SMS Teacher ; Hope Henry, SPS Teacher.

The Board approved the employment of the following certified employees: Kathryn Braddy, SES Teacher; Jessica Collins, TCE Principal; Tylan Davis, SMS Band Director; Angela Hooks, SHS Grad Coach/Registrar; Keylee Johnson, SES Teacher; Caroline Kelly, SPS Teacher; Mia King, SPS Teacher; Calissa Mason, SES Teacher; Lara Norton, SES Principal;

Befaney Roberson, SHS Guidance Counselor; Jodi Singletary, SPS Assistant Principal; Mallory Wheeler, SES Teacher.

The Board approved the employment of the following classified employees: Mary Gilmore, SHS Custodian; Martha Williamson, SES SFS Worker; Destiny Scott, Pre-K Paraprofessional.

The Board approved the resignation of the following certified employees: Manzie Broxton, SMS Principal; Andrea Davis, SMS Teacher; Stephanie Lanier, SES Teacher; Kayla Meeks, SPS Teacher; Angeleetha Raymond, SES Teacher, Ellen Stephens, SPS Teacher.

Finally, the Board approved the resignations of the following classified employees: Haylie Dawkins, SPS Paraprofessional; Justin Fulmer, SPS SFS Worker; Tonya Gilmore, Bus Driver Transportation; Shateria Jenkins, Bus Driver Transportation; Jamie Wilkerson SPS SFS Worker

Beta Sponsor Cindy Riner, Principal Brandon Andrews, Superintendent Hattaway and Board Member John Allen Bailey with SHS Beta Students

Superintendent Scotty Hattaway, P.A.U.S.E. Award Recipient Braylie Brown, Board Member Mace Henry