top of page
  • Guest

BOE recognizes numerous individuals at latest meeting

The Emanuel County Board of Education held its May meeting last Tuesday at 5 p.m. inside the gymnasium at Swainsboro Primary School. Numerous individuals affiliated with the district were honored that evening, beginning with a portrait unveiling and reception to honor former superintendent Erma Jenkins.

Jenkins culminated a career spent in local education when she headed the district as superintendent from 2010 to 2014. Prior to serving in that role, she worked as a teacher and principal for many years.

Following the reception in her honor, the board began its business session with the first item on the agenda being student and staff recognitions. Assistant Superintendent Toni Terwilliger presented awards to the following honorees:

Brodee Cate Johnson, Sadie Boulineau, Lillian Scott, and Weston Lee for being RESA-level winners of the Young Georgia Authors Writing Contest. Johnson is a fourth grader at Twin City Elementary, Boulineau is a freshman at Swainsboro High School, Scott is a sophomore at SHS, and Lee is a fifth grader at Swainsboro Elementary School.

Abigayle Roberts for being a semi finalist in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

Jessica Nicole Clifton of Emanuel County Institute. She is ECI’s STAR Student for this year as well as the Class of 2021’s valedictorian.

Joseph Andrew Lamb of SHS. He represents his school as STAR Student this year and is the countywide STAR Student as well.

Joseph Korwin, ECI’s STAR Teacher.

Selena Reynolds, SHS’s STAR Teacher. She is the countywide STAR Teacher as well.

Breana Leigh Librizzi for being ECI’s salutatorian.

Abigayle Zo Roberts for being SHS’s salutatorian.

In other news shared during the meeting, Superintendent Dr. Kevin Judy shared with the board that Emanuel County Schools had been named a 2020 Vision School Nutrition Participating System by Georgia Zone and Fueling Georgia, which is part of the Georgia Department of Education School Nutrition.

In order to be named such, 20 percent of the products served on a daily basis must be Georgia grown. On that note, Dr. Judy thanked Chandra Hooks and her staff as well as CTAE at teachers and students for helping grow some of this food.

The superintendent also mentioned that Matt Donaldson, mayor of Twin City and representative of the Georgia Board of Education representing District 12, would hold a town hall meeting Monday, May 24, at 7 p.m. at the Central Office. The purpose of this meeting is to hear comments and feedback from interested citizens and educators within the congressional district regarding kindergarten through 12th grade public education. Those who wish to speak should sign in upon arrival. For more information about this meeting, email

Next, Dr. Judy reminded all about the upcoming graduation ceremonies. Swainsboro High will graduate its Class of 2021 on Thursday, May 20, at 7:30 p.m. while ECI’s Class of 2021 will graduate Friday, May 21, at 7:30 p.m. The last day of school will be Wednesday, May 26, with early dismissal. Post-planning will be held Thursday, May 27, and Friday, May 28.

Lastly, Dr. Judy thanked all board members and everyone present for their support of the school district and of him for the past seven years. Tuesday night’s board meeting would be his last before his retirement at the end of May. (The board is set to announce its new superintendent on Wednesday, May 19, at 8:15 a.m. The three finalists are Anthony Aikens, Scotty Hattaway, and Dr. Denise Warnock.)

The consent agenda included minutes from a regular meeting held April 13 as well as minutes from called meetings held April 19, April 27, May 4, and May 6; the financial reports from Mollie Smith; the 2021-2022 Early Head Start Refunding Application; Swainsboro Primary School’s mandatory addendum; Swainsboro Elementary School’s re-roofing certification; and a guaranteed maximum price letter for Swainsboro Middle School’s renovations. The consent agenda as a whole was approved unanimously.

The board then voted to enter executive session. Upon returning to open session, the board approved the following:

Certified employments — teachers Jessica Andrews, Angelica Brobst, Lane Carnell, Jessica Cayley, David Markwith, Marissa Thompson, Tina Allison Thompson, Crystal Witcher, and Angela Williford; Demitasse Clark-Hubbard, Assistant Director of Student Services; psychologist Haley Johnson; and counselor Katherine Lee.

Classified employments — paraprofessional Donna Alexander, Jennifer Chalker, Lisa Hall, Lorie Love, Elizabeth Price, Amanda Reynolds, and Bethany Way; substitute bus monitor Debra Beasley; substitute clerk Audrey Cooler; substitute school food service worker Hollie Davis; and substitute custodian Rochelle Walker.

Certified resignations — teachers Megan Copeland, Brandy Donna, Troy Hester, Brice Hobbs, Kimberlyn Johnson, Mary Rowland, and Janie Slater. JROTC instructor Francisco Ramey’s certified resignation was also approved.

Classified resignations — Clerk Jamie Boatright and paraprofessional Betty King.

Certified transfers — teachers Jenna Durden, Leah Rehberg, and Hannah Stewart. Work-Based Learning/YAP teacher Julie Frix’s certified transfer was approved as well.

The Emanuel County Board of Education will hold its next regular meeting on June 8.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Emanuel County NAACP Branch Unit #5199 will have this month's regular meeting on Thursday, March 9th at the Sudie Fulford Learning Center on the campus of East Georgia State College at 6:30 p.m.. Pres

bottom of page