top of page

Cranford pockets $1,500 payday at local dirt track

After a weeks-long hiatus, Swainsboro Raceway welcomed drivers and spectators once again for racing action two weekends ago. By the end of the night, winners in six different classes had taken victory laps and parked in Victory Lane.

The biggest payout of the weekend went to Benjamin Cranford, winner of the Zaxby’s 604 Crate Late Model Division. The 93C car driver received $1,500 for his win on October 16. Placing second through sixth respectively were: Joshua Bishop, Henry Carter, Michael Akeson, Brandon Carpenter, and Jordy Nipper.

Another class, the Southland Insurance 602 Late Model Division, handed out a pretty payday. Austin Scarboro, driving the 10S machine, took home a $1,000 check at the end of the night for his victory. Finishing behind him, beginning with second place onward, were: Monk Gulledge, Jim Rogers, Tyler Sanders, Kyle Connell, Landon Matthews, Lance Griffith, Cameron Tribble, Brent Herndon, Terry Lumley, Dustin Watkins, Eric Register, Ches Chester, Joey May, and Lenny Hobbs.

As always, the ever-popular Lynn & Bob’s Crown Vic Division was split into two features.

Eric Baggett, in the 27E car, came out on top of four others: BB Burgamy, Luke Edwards (who was disqualified), Mitchell Meeks, and Wesley Watkins.

The remaining Crown Vic winner was Jared Jones, who drove the 65P machine. Following suit behind him in chronological order from second place were: CJ Ussery (who was disqualified as well), Joel Stutz, Gary Edwards, Jayme Elliott, DJ Mason, Jordan Shurling, and Jerry Bazemore.

Richie Green, handler of the 88G car, drove himself to victory in the Bargain Bucket 440s Division. Other finishers included: Bradley Bratcher in second place, Larry Fortescue in third place, Dawson Lumley in fourth place, Melissa Pease in fifth place, and Jak Lively in sixth place.

The largest class of the night was the Daniels Chevrolet Road Warrior Division, which featured 15 racers battling it out with eventual winner John Bratcher, driver of the 22B machine, coming out victorious. Second through 15th places went to: Tyler Davis, Matthew Thompson, Jayse Walden, Frank Hunnicut, Baker Davis, Brayden Upshaw, Graham Stevenson, Frank Woods, Garret Thigpen, Robert Fail, Tommy Hadden, RJ Coleman, Wesley Coleman, and Dallas Simmons.

Finally, the Rustic Grill Super Street/Super Stock Division rounded out the night’s features. Brandon Carpenter, in the B4 car, picked up the win. Nine others placed behind him: Alex Sturkie, Michael Slater, Ricky Woodward, Gage Carter, Stanley Gracey, Dustin Watkins, Dusty Collins, George Williamson, and Barry Cates.

Swainsboro Raceway will be back in action on October 30 for its annual Turkey Tune-Up.

All pictures are courtesy of Richard Barnes. Street Stock winner Brandon Carpenter was unavailable for a photo.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page