top of page

DEA holds Honors Day

David Emanuel Academy held its annual Honors Day Program on May 26. During this ceremony, numerous students were recognized for their various academic achievements for the 2020-2021 school year.

AnnaKade Clemens (valedictorian), Chloe Calhoun (salutatorian), Hannah Goodman, Carrie Newsome, Alana Donaldson, Garrett Claxton, Jordyn Bell, and Bailey Burke were recognized as honor graduates.

Jordyn Bell, Bailey Burke, Chloe Calhoun, Garrett Claxton, AnnaKade Clemens, Alana Donaldson, Hannah Goodman, Carrie Newsome, Kaitlyn Reininger, and Rachel Shaw were honored for being members of Senior Beta Club.

Ann Carol Daniel, Lanna Douglas, Cora Ellington, Peyton Free, Riley Griner, Ashlyn Hall, Jaylin Hall, Molly Hammock, Grace Catherine Hood, CheyAnne Woodcock Howard, Math McCullough, Sarah Jo Perkins, Rylie Rowland, Brayden Smith, Alana Tant, and Emma Taylor were recognized for being members of Beta Club as well.

Ben Bennett, Josie Grace Black, Timothy Braddock, Ella Claire Claxton, Moya Collier, Sara Cate Fennell, Cayley Flanders, Alivia Fortner, Karoline Kettles, Billy Martin, Maddie Perkins, Emma Proctor, Levi Shaw, Tony Sutton, and Brianna Wimberly were celebrated for being inducted into Beta Club.

More than 20 students were honored for being part of Junior Beta Club. Among these individuals were: James Beecher, Thomas Cain, Kaley Flowers, Aubrey Griner, Halli Hammock, Kinley Jersey, Carrie Johnson, Lara McNure, Preslee Moore, Henny Patel, Sheppard Purcell, Alba Ricks, Amelia Wilkes, Raylin Womack, Katherine Yeomans, Sophie Young, Zaylee Braddy, Chloe Daniel, Jillian Davis, Jace Farmer, Jack Evan Fields, Presley Gowen, Ben Griner, Scout Hall, River Holloway, Lexa Jukes, Karson Kettles, Lyla Grace Martin, Myli Jane McCullough, Emily McRae, Aubrey Scott, Gracie Scruggs, Bentley Smith, Anna Sutton, Hensley Terwilliger, Rileigh Andrews, Paxton Dixon, A.J. Edenfield, Ethan Fields, Brook Fleming, Tucker Free, Braydon Lawson, Bailey McNure, Payton Peebles, Layton Terwilliger, Bryan Beasley, Richard Braddy, Henzli Hall, Mattie Grace Lane, Landon Lindsey, John Nathan Martin, Cooper Riner, Jayden Slater, Addalyn Terwilliger, Juddson Wilkes, Aubrey Williams, Dottie Cay Youmans, Maggie Black, Addie Brown, Cavan Calhoun, Clayton Hood, Emmi Lai Tyam, Peyton Lee, Jaxson Wiggins, and Seth Williamson.

Rachel Shaw was recognized for making the SAT 1100 Club.

Billy Martin, Cheyenne Woodcock Howard, Alana Tant, and Chloe Calhoun received awards for having the highest academic averages for the year for ninth, 10th, 11th, and 12th grades respectively.

Chloe Calhoun received the American Legion Scholastic Award.

In reference to the VFW Patriot’s Pen Essay Contest, Brook Fleming was celebrated as the local first place winner and the district second place winner. Addalyn Terwilliger took second place while Emmi Lai Tyam took third.

AnnaKade Clemens was honored as DEA’s DAR Good Citizen.

Emmi Lai Tyam received the DAR Good Citizenship Award for eighth grade.

In reference to the DAR American History Essay Contest, Jamie Gunter was the school’s eighth grade winner. Addalyn Terwilliger was DEA’s seventh grade winner as well as a chapter winner, Tucker Free was the school’s sixth grade winner as well as a chapter winner, and Aubrey Scott was the school’s fifth grade winner as well as a district winner.

Farm Bureau Essay Contest winners recognized during Honors Day were county winner Bryan Beasley, second place winner Aubrey Williams, and third place winner Judson Wilkes.

Numerous scholarships were given during the program as well. These included:

• Metter Kiwanis Club Scholarship – Chloe Calhoun

• Swainsboro Exchange Club Youth of the Year – Garrett Claxton, AnnaKade Clemens (county winner)

• Forest-Blade Scholarship – Chloe Calhoun

• Taylor Nicole Hooks Memorial Scholarship – AnnaKade Clemens

• Candace Canady Memorial Scholarship – Chloe Calhoun

• Virginia B. Snell Memorial Scholarship – Chloe Calhoun

• Swainsboro Ford Lincoln Friendship Scholarship – Chloe Calhoun

• East Georgia State College Correll Scholarship – Rachel Shaw