top of page

ECS Board honors authors and musicians

Updated: Apr 14

Adapted from Board Bits by Deanna Ryan

The Emanuel County Board of Education met on Tuesday, March 14, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. at the Swainsboro Elementary School cafeteria with the following members in attendance: John Allen Bailey, Del Brown, Mason Henry, Cherie Hooks, Tanya Lane, Johnny Parker and Sandra Swinney.

Mr. Scotty Hattaway welcomed everyone to the meeting and proceeded to recognize the Board members in honor of the Georgia School Board Association School Board Appreciation Week (March 13 – 17, 2023). Board members were presented with gift baskets from the schools.

Ms. Tammy Gray recognized the February recipients of the F.A.M.I.L.Y. (Forget About Me I Love You), P.A.U.S.E. (Pupil Acknowledgement Using SAS/FAMILY Example) and S.A.S. (Service Above Self) awards.

SHS Technology teacher Joseph O’Neal received the F.A.M.I.L.Y. award for going out of his way to “make the Engineering & Technology lab, not only fun, but a great place to explore and learn technical skills needed to be successful in high-demand careers. Mr. O'Neal is not afraid to step out of the box in order to push students to reach a potential they don't even know they have.”

Bus monitor Shannon Morris received the S.A.S. award for being “firm but fair with all students and focusing on their safety. Recently she showed a great deal of patience and concern when dealing with a concerned parent. She took time to listen to the parents' concerns and changed seating assignments to put her kids in a better place on the bus."

SES 4th grade student Kinsley Watson received the P.A.U.S.E. award for using “kind words, and her actions back up her words. She is the epitome of a true friend."

Dr. Denise Warnock and Tammy Gray recognized the students for awards in band, Beta and Young Authors.

SHS District 10 Honor Band awards went to: Bo Brown 4th Chair Trumpet, 9th & 10th Grade Honor Band; Jayson Brown 2nd Chair Alto Saxophone, 11th & 12th Grade Honor Band; and Kylee Farley 5th Chair Trombone, 9th & 10th Grade Honor Band.

The All State Honor Band award went to Jayson Brown 1st Chair Alto Saxophone, 11th & 12th grade band.

Young Georgia Authors writing contest awards went to: SPS kindergartener Willow Rewis for “Finding the Steed Prince”; SPS 1st grader Samuel Manjarres-Ibanez for “Tyro and the Secret Potion”; SPS 2nd grader Johnna Canady for “Pip the Unique-com”; SES 3rd grader Preston Claxton for “The Roller Coaster”; SES 4th grader Cayleigh Taylor for “The Big Secret”; SES 5th grader Ashlyn Turner for “Jungle Island”; ECI 6th grader Brodee Cate Johnson for “Friendships”; ECI 7th grader Lawson Frye for “The Diagnosis”; SMS 8th grader Grayson Brassell for “A Sinner's Façade”; SHS 9th grader Alexus Mercer for “Humanity”; SHS 10th grader Abigail Phillips for “Fighter's Spirit”; SHS 11th grader Ava Cookfor “Dark Things”; ECI 12th grader Brigett Rachels for “A Modern Canterbury Tale.”

The CSRA RESA Young Georgia Authors writing contest award went to SPS 2nd grader Johnna Canady and SMS 8th grader Grayson Brassell.

SES Jr. Beta Club State Competition awards went to: Alison Leal, 1st Place in ELA; Alice Lopez, 1st Place in Spanish; Cade Colston, Michael Nealy and Ciara Thomas, 1st Place in Musicology; Kairi Howell, 1st Place in Performing Arts Solo, Duo, Trio (Golden Ticket Winner); Kaylee Screws , 1st Place in On-Site Drawing; Addi Rae Robertson, Stetson Sheppard, Jude Thompson, and Kirstin Coleman 1st Place in Living Literature; Whole Group, 1st Place in Portfolio; Addi Rae Robertson, Anna Grace Scarborough, Ashlyn Turner, Gabe Sammons, and Landon Kapp, 1st Place in Engineering; Audrey Crane, 2nd Place in Quilling; Kaylee Screws, 2nd Place in Mixed Media; Aubree Roberts, 2nd Place in Club Trading Pin; Whole Group, 3rd Place in 2-D Design Banner; Maddux Hendrix 3rd Place in Woodworking; Julianne Way 3rd Place in Fiber Arts; Whole Group 3rd Place in Service Learning Project; Banks Burke, Kaylee Screws, Cade Colston, Julianne Way, and Maddux Hendrix 3rd Place in Quiz Bowl; Aubree Roberts 4th Place in Color Photography, Banks Burke, Kirstin Coleman, Cade Colston, Calli Fields, Jared Garcia-De La Cruz, Aviana Harris, Bowyn Harvey, Maddux Hendrix, Kairi Howell, Morgan Jackson, Jazlyn Jackson, Jazzalyn Jackson, JT Jackson, Landon Kapp, Luis Lopez-Garcia, Michael Nealey, Levi Phillips, Justin Rithsay, Aubree Roberts, Addison Robertson, Gabe Sammons, Sakiyna Sanders, Anna Grace Scarborough, Kaylee Screws, Stetson Sheppard, Sa-Ryah Smith, Amelia Taylor, Cierra Thomas, Jude Thompson, Abi Torpy, Ashlyn Turner, Julianne Way, and Jocelyn Williams 4th Place in Songfest (Group Club Performance).

During the regular meeting, the board discussed updates on the School-Based Health Center Program Grant and renewing the America’s Schools Grant. The approved Consent Agenda contained February 16, 2023 Regular Board Meeting minutes, along with financial reports by Mollie Smith, approval of a maintenance service truck, and a list of surplus materials.

During the executive session, the board approved certifying the renewals of the following principals and directors: Brandon Andrews, Ronald Hirst, Stacey Barber, Chandra Hooks, Manzie Broxton, Stefanie Mason, Maria Daniels, Susan Rutherford, Anetria Edenfield, Mollie Smith, Dionne Gamble, Jansen Ware, Donna Godowns (49%), Denise Warnock, and Gail Greenway.

The Board also approved the employment of the following classified employees: Kristl Griffin, Parapro SMS; Jamie Wilkerson, SFS Worker; Salahadina Wright, Parapro SHS.

The Board finally approved the continued employment of certified and classified staff with signed contracts.

The Board approved the resignations of the following certified employees as of 5/26/23: Megan Braddy, Teacher ECI; Carmen Graham, Teacher SHS; Davont’eMcCall, Teacher SES; Renee McGraw, Teacher SES; Diane Ward, Instructional Coach TCE. The Board also approved the resignations of the following classified employees as of 2/22/23: Melissa Fulmer, Parapro TCE; Julie Gillis, Bookkeeper SHS; Makika Kelly, Parapro SMS;

Julie Rodas, SFS Worker SES; Taylor Silva, SFS Worker SPS.

The Board approved the retirement of certified employee, Frederick Hundley, Teacher SMS as of 6/13/23. The Board finally approved the retirement of classified employee Patricia Manley, SFS Worker ECI as of 4/1/23.

(LtoR) Assistant Superintendent Denise Warnock, SPS Assistant Principal Sarah Tapley, Georgia Young Authors Writing Region Winner, Johnna Canady, SPS Instructional Coach Jodi Singletary, and Superintendent Scotty Hattaway, not pictured SMS Student Grayson Brassell

(LtoR) Principal Brandon Andrews, F.A.M.I.L.Y. Award Recipient Joseph O'Neal, and Board Member Cherie Hooks

(LtoR) Superintendent Scotty Hattaway, S.A.S. Award Recipient Shannon Morris, and Board Member John Allen Bailey

(LtoR) Principal Valorie Watkins, P.A.U.S.E. Award Recipient Kinsley Watson, and Board Member Sandra Swinney

(LtoR) Assistant Principal Lara Norton, Sponsor Rachel Burkhalter, Susan Stephenson, Whitney Claxon, and Principal Valorie Watkins with SES Jr. Beta Club Award Recipients

(LtoR) Principal Brandon Andrews, Jayson Brown, and Board Member Dell Brown

(LtoR) Principal Brandon Andrews, Bo Brown, Jayson Brown, and Kylee Farley, and Board Member Johnny Parker

(LtoR) Assistant Principal Lara Norton, Principal Valorie Watkins, and Board Member Tanya Lane with SES Jr. Beta Songfest Award Recipients

Georgia Young Authors District Winners with Superintendent Scotty Hattaway and Board Member Mace Henry

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page