top of page

Emanuel Medical now a Level IV trauma center

Emanuel Medical Center has leveled up! The local hospital was named a Level IV trauma center as of September 13. Emanuel Medical Center followed guidelines of the Georgia Department of Public Health, Office of EMS and Trauma, and the American College of Surgeons in order to earn this designation.

In order to receive this upgrade, Emanuel Medical Center had to demonstrate “Resources for Optimal Care of the Injured Patient” as ruled by the site team of the GDPH, Office of EMS and Trauma, and ACS. The designation will be for a period of three years, expiring in September 2024.

The latest accomplishment is an important one. It means Emanuel Medical Center is constantly growing and outdoing themselves, and this has clearly been recognized.

“The administration and staff of Emanuel Medical Center have clearly demonstrated dedication to the care of trauma patients in Georgia,” said Kathleen E. Toomey, M.D., M.P.H., Commissioner of Georgia Department of Public Health. “You are an asset to your community and the citizens you serve.”

CEO of Emanuel Medical Center, Damien Scott added his own comments. “Regarding the Level IV trauma designation, I think it is one of Emanuel Medical Center’s most important accomplishments. As part of our requirements, we must provide training for our staff and review every trauma case which includes getting feedback from an outside trauma facility. For our community, that means that they will get excellent trauma care from EMS to the ER to the appropriate higher level trauma center.”

According to the American Trauma Society, a Level IV trauma center has demonstrated an ability to provide advanced trauma life support (ATLS) prior to transfer of patients to a higher level trauma center. It provides evaluation, stabilization, and diagnostic capabilities for injured patients.

Elements of Level IV trauma centers include:

• basic emergency department facilities to implement ATLS protocols and 24-hour laboratory coverage;

• available trauma nurse(s) and physicians available upon patient arrival;

• may provide surgery and critical-care services if available;

• has developed transfer agreements for patients requiring more comprehensive care at a Level I or Level II trauma center;

• incorporates a comprehensive quality assessment program;

• and is involved with prevention efforts and must have an active outreach program for its referring communities.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page