top of page
  • Guest

Farrow, Averett, and Frye move on to district Young Authors competition

Swainsboro Primary School announced via press release Thursday the winners of this year’s Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition.

Kindergartener Tasia Farrow, first grader Avery Frye, and second grader Emerson “Emmie” Averett will now represent SPS in the next phase of the contest as their original works will be compared to others’ in the district.

Six others placed from Swainsboro Primary.

Thorne Jersey and Johanna Shepard received second and third place respectively in the kindergarten division. De’Kiya Booker and Dessie Singletary finished second and third respectively as first graders, and Brandtley “Brandt” Wheeler and Lyndon Singletary took second and third respectively as second graders.

Earning these awards, nine students (as well as the other contestants who participated) had to harness their creativity when penning their stories as the Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition is unlike other composition contests; students are not given a specific prompt. Instead, they are asked to use their imagination.

Submissions are judged on expression of ideas, language usage, and unique perspective and voice.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The University of Georgia College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences recently announced that Grace Hood was placed on the Dean’s List for Fall 2022. This accomplishment has placed her in the top

By Deanna Ryan During this month’s Emanuel County Board of Education meeting, Assistant Superintendent Dr. Denise Warnock shared the 2022 College and Career Ready Performance Index (CCRPI) scores, whi

bottom of page