Kiwanis welcomes new officers, board

During its meeting held Tuesday, September 21, at 7 p.m. at Rustic Grill, Swainsboro Kiwanis Club installed its 2021-2022 officers as well as its new board of directors. Additionally, awards and certificates won by Kiwanians this past year were presented.

With President Dess D. Smith III presiding, 23 people including three guests—Georgia District Governor Byron Mullican, Jimmy Wedincamp and Jimmy Allen—witnessed the occasion.

Governor Mullican performed the installation of board members. Directors Carlos Cunha, Jane Durden, Cayla Page, and Cindy Ware; two-year Directors Monica Wren, Tracy Mason, Jeff Brewer and Jim Clapham will serve for one year.

He also installed Travis Garrett as treasurer and Edwin Canady as secretary for 2021-2022. Tim Goodman was installed in the assistant secretary position, a new position recently approved by Kiwanis International. Further, Governor Mullican installed Cheryl Goodman as vice president, Tammy Allen as president-elect, and Dianna Wedincamp as president for the 2021-2022 year.

These installations were made following President Smith’s thanking the outgoing board’s members and turning the program over to Governor Mullican, who concluded the installations with his own thanks to the 2020-2021 board.

President Smith also presented Kiwanians of the Year awards and plaques to Tim Goodman and Mary Ellen Smith.

Tammy Allen, Jim Daughtry, Petite Garrett, Travis Garrett, Tim Goodman, Cheryl Goodman, Deana Patrick, Mary Ellen Smith, Dess Smith, and Dianna Wedincamp received Perfect Attendance Certificates, and Deana Patrick, Frank Patrick, Ginny Smith, Cary Couse, Petite Garrett, Jim Daughtry, Dianna Wedincamp, Cheryl Goodman, Jane Durden, and Bobbie Daughtry all received Certificates of Appreciation.

President Dess Smith III was recognized as well with a plaque of his own and gifts for his service this year as he assumes the role of immediate past president on the 2021-2022 board.

Last but not least, Cheryl Goodman presented a framed Georgia Kiwanis District Memorial program to Jane Durden to honor Chip Durden. Additionally, the Kiwanis District Convention honored the 88 Kiwanians who passed away this year, including Swainsboro Kiwanian Aaron Correll.

The meeting also included a brief board meeting to approve the minutes of the August 17 board meeting and the September 21 financial report.

Bobby Seamans won the chocolate-on-chocolate cake donated and baked by Petite Garrett while Jane Durden won the pizza donated by Domino’s.

If you would like to become a member of Swainsboro Kiwanis Club, contact Membership Chair Jane Durden at 478-494-4113 or email her at

For more information about the club and the many community service projects it does each year, go to or visit the club on Facebook.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All