Lots of positive news at latest BOE meeting

The Emanuel County Board of Education held its November meeting last Tuesday evening and during that time, the district handed out a set of special awards for the first time.

In keeping with new superintendent Scotty Hattaway’s vision and mottos for the system, the BOE recognized Tiffany Strickland as the recipient of the F.A.M.I.L.Y. Award, Trena Houston as the recipient of the S.A.S. Award, and Jonorian Foots as the recipient of the P.A.U.S.E. Award. All of these inaugural awards served as the October recognitions and were formally presented two days later. A comprehensive story about each award and its respective recipients can be found elsewhere in this edition of The Crossroads.

Three other bestowals highlighted the latest BOE meeting. Assistant Superintendent Dr. Denise Warnock went before the group and shared that Principal Valorie Watkins and her school, Swainsboro Elementary, had received a Georgia Shape Grant.

The assistant super also informed the assembled that ECI’s middle school had received a Best Schools Award from US News, which celebrates the institutions that place within the top 30 percent in Georgia.

Next, rounding out her talk, Dr. Warnock recognized Stefanie Mason, Director of Assessment and CTAE Education for Emanuel County Schools. According to Dr. Warnock, Mason had received a Computer Science Teacher Capacity Grant from the state department of ed, making Emanuel one of just 17 counties across the state to receive this special funding.

Director of Operations Jansen Ware then gave an update on the renovations taking place at Swainsboro Middle.

The consent agenda was presented with six items included: minutes from the October 19 regular board meeting, the financial reports, fundraiser propositions, the approval of the ESPLOST schedule that was advertised, the declaration of election results regarding ESPLOST and a coordinating certificate from the local board of elections, and the approval of Gray, Pannell, and Woodward, LLP as bond validation agents. This agenda in particular was approved unanimously.

The board also entertained an executive session. Upon returning to open session, the board approved the following:

• certified employments of teachers Heidi Dowell and Erreka Pugh;

• classified employments of paraprofessional Connie Bush, school food service substitute Julie Rodas, and custodian Amy Sause;

• classified resignations of custodian Robbie Dudley, paraprofessional Naomi Hall, and school food service workers Lucious Williams and Melinda O’Quinn;

• classified transfers of payroll specialist Melissa Fleming, custodian supervisor Leon Gilmore, bookkeeper Shannon Smith, and data clerk Princess Middleton;

• and certified retirement of teacher Donald Avery.

There being no further business, the board of education adjourned. Its next scheduled meeting is set for December 14 at 5:30 p.m. at the Central Office.

All members were present except Del Brown for last week’s meeting, which was called to order by Chairman Mase Henry. Johnny Parker delivered the invocation and led the pledge.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All