More honors pour in for ECI Spirit of the Dawgs

Awards continue to roll in for Emanuel County Institute’s band. The Spirit of the Dawgs have spent the last two weekends on the road representing their school at two different competitions and have brought home several awards from both.

On Saturday, October 16, ECI’s band competed against seven other schools in the Sound of Silver Competition at Pierce County High School in Blackshear.

There, the group placed first in Division A and was named Best in Class as well as Most Spirited Band.

Additionally, the group received superior drum major and percussion ratings. The Spirit of the Dawgs’ danceline earned a rating of excellent, and on the whole, the group returned an excellent rating in the category of Overall Band as well.

ECI also received first in Class Percussion and rounded out the list of awards with second place finishes in auxiliary and drum major.

This past Saturday, October 23, ECI competed against 10 other schools at the Strong Rock Classic at Strong Rock Christian in Locust Grove.

At this competition, the band received superior ratings in two categories: drum major and danceline. Those ratings were joined by two excellent as well in band and percussion.

“Band kids are amazing, and I am so blessed to teach some of the best,” said Ashley Akridge, ECI’s music teacher and band director. “They have worked countless hours so far this year and to see it pay off is such a rewarding feeling. The look on their faces when they won Best in Class Percussion was incomparable, but then the look on my students’ faces when they realized they had won their class brought tears of joy to my eyes for them. I am so, so proud of them.”

Prior to the latest competition, ECI brought back superior honors from the Band Blast Competition at Southeast Bulloch on September 25.

On this year’s band roster are: Claire Akridge, JoAnna Arms, Caleb Clements, Carolyn Cox, Evie Dowd, Aleigha Ducker, Brack Fagler, Cailey “Kai” Fann, Joshua Flanders, Lillie Hammond, Jackelyn Hebert, Jayden Henry, Braeden Hooks, Gracie Johnson, Wallee Kersey, Blake Librizzi, Conner Merier, Madison Murray, Ohm Patel, Lacey Pierce, Reese Raines, O’Zion Reese, Shelby Roberson, Caroline Salinas, Carlee Sherrod, Maggie Smith, Aaron Spears, Toddriana Watson, and Zoey Womack.

4 views0 comments